My Daughter, the Trucker

“My daughter, the trucker,” has an odd ring to it, doesn’t it? I’m sure I’ll get used it eventually. Just like anything you say enough, or hear enough, after a while it will sound ordinary to you. But for now its strange to say and even stranger to think about.

And no, its not because I believe in stereotypical roles for females. I’ve always maintained that if a woman can do the same job as a man then she should be allowed to do it. But I mean the SAME job as a man. Not a modified, watered down version of the job to accommodate a woman. Where’s the equality in that?

I’m not a feminist. Not at all. Not by any stretch of the imagination. I’m glad to be a woman and think that God had a pretty good plan when he created us to be different from men. We are (hopefully, ideally) a perfect compliment to men.  “And together we shall become one.” Pieces of a puzzle that when you find the perfect fit make a beautiful picture together, working together for a common goal. 

But I didn’t mean to go off on a tangent about women’s rights and equality. I was telling you about my daughter, the trucker. Meet Melissa. She’s an interesting study of the human spirit and drive (no pun intended) for success.  She doesn’t fit the mold of what you’d expect for a cross-country trucker.

Admit it, when you hear the word ‘trucker’ you get an immediate mental image of a rough and tumble male, flannel shirts and blue jeans. Our modern-day version of the cowboys of the old west, but instead of wrangling cattle and riding horses off into the sunset they drive a big rig delivering products for us all to use.

Melissa sure doesn’t fit that picture. She loves make-up and curling irons and spends hours getting ready. Expensive perfume and even more expensive purses. Frilly girl things. Prissy girl things. And she’s always been that way. Growing up with her siblings she didn’t play with the cars and ‘boy toys’ like her sister Courtney did. She always opted for the traditional girl toys.

That’s why it was funny to watch her ride a dirt bike. Where exactly do you put the $300 purse when you’re riding a bike? Hmmmmmm…….interesting question. And from that the evolution into a truck driver.  Not the career path I’d envisioned for her, nor one that she’d ever dreamed about. Of course, along the way a ‘significant other’ entered her life and his dreams became hers. Happens to all of us. Its supposed to be that way, isn’t it? Keeping our dreams but expanding them to include what the other person wants as well.

So now Melissa is poised to graduate truck driving school next Friday. And hit the open highway off to other great adventures. I admit it, I’ll worry about her. And I’ll miss her. But she can always email and call. And I know she will.

And in a couple of years when she’s saved enough money she will go back to school and get her degree. After that maybe she’ll open a day spa like she’s always planned. Did I mention that she’s a girly girl?

My daughter, the trucker. Kind of has a ring to it I guess.

1 Comment »

  1. […] Wahyu Agung article is brought to you using rss feeds.Here you will find the best trucking resources for truckers.That’s why it was funny to watch her ride a dirt bike. Where exactly do you put the $300 purse when you’re riding a bike? Hmmmmmm…….interesting question. And from that the evolution into a truck driver. … […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

